Waking Up Before the Birds

resized_socially-awesome-penguin-meme-generator-wake-up-in-the-morning-birds-outside-window-stop-singing-and-bow-down-before-my-awesomeness-10b3a2

I was up early this morning to solidify next steps of a deal. It’s a measure of how interested I am in driving this contract…I was willing to wake up at 4 am and get dressed for a 4:30 am conference call. Yikes.

The downside of doing video calls is that you sit there and stare at the bags under your eyes, and begin to question your wardrobe choices. I mean…it’s 4:30 am. I’ll join a meeting, but I’m not going to wear something nicer than a sweater…and I’m certainly not using makeup. Not at 4:30. The consequences of these choices are that you can clearly see the bags under my eyes and I look like I should still be in bed.

Probably because I should still be in bed. Now that the call is over, and my first cup of coffee has been consumed, I have fully determined that the 4:30 am wake-up call was a false start, and I can crawl back into bed for a bit. Which sounds like a total win.

Waking up before dawn is something I really only enjoy when I’m headed off on a flight, or slathering on sunblock for a big ride. When it’s work, it just feels stressful.

Back to bed, people. At least I don’t have makeup to remove.

Leave a Reply

