So This Is Christmas

IMG_0372

And what have you done
Another year over
And a new one just begun

It’s been kind of a strange year, and Christmas is turning out as no exception.  On reflection, this year was my first year without clear focus and commitment.  I had four different jobs, and didn’t fall in love with any of them.  I changed companies twice.  I spent more time off of the bicycle, in an effort to make my weekends less uni-dimensional…and now I miss the bike, and I’ve gained 15 lbs.  So yeah – that probably wasn’t the best idea.  I even spent some time unemployed, although I wouldn’t say I took much time to relax and recharge.

Many things didn’t change.  For the first time in four years, I didn’t move.  I had a consistent relationship.  I didn’t buy a new car, despite spending quite a bit of time looking.  I didn’t hike the Camino Santiago despite planning for it, and even doing a reasonable job of training last Spring.  And my health didn’t appreciably improve — despite trying Chinese herbalists, different diets (gluten free for about 3 months), and changing up my exercise regimen (Pilates FTW).

So maybe this was a year of figuring out what NOT to do.  Next year, it’s back on the bike and I plan to do AIDS LifeCycle again.  I’m keeping the Pilates but subtracting the Chinese herbalists and the diet changes.  I’m sticking with the current company, but I have some new thrusts I’m going to implement on my role and career.

And next year will not be a “Bah Humbug” Christmas….even though this year I suspect that’s exactly what I’ll be feeling in three days.

Happy holidays’ y’all.

And so this is Christmas
I hope you have fun

Leave a Reply

