Still Rock n Roll

Billy

“Everybody’s talkin’ ’bout the new sound
Funny, but it’s still rock and roll to me.”
– Billy Joel

And here’s the challenge: if there’s nothing new under the stars, how do we maintain an attitude of gratefulness, focus, and and excitement about the world around us? How do we approach every new challenge and interaction with energy and excitement, and minimize natural cynicism? After all, it’s human nature to simplify complexity and discard previously solved problems.

I don’t know that I have an answer, but I recognize I need to think about this conundrum more and find a new approach. There’s an opportunity to energize others and myself by reacting differently. Busy-ness and cynicism are a somewhat universal condition, but they’re only excuses or failed approaches.

It might still be rock ‘n roll, but that doesn’t mean the music can’t get you on your feet and dancing.

Leave a comment